updatespaster.blogg.se

How to netboot imac
How to netboot imac





how to netboot imac
  1. How to netboot imac install#
  2. How to netboot imac trial#

So after discovering the above 'drivers CDROM' I proceeded to do the same with the Windows XP install on my iMac - and guess what? It broke the graphics driver big time - I couldn't set the resolution to anything except 4-bit colour! I had to roll back the graphics driver (and so it was a good thing that I had the proper installed drivers!) The drivers supplied by Apple also broke the Apple wireless keyboard and mouse! These two items worked before the drivers started installing - and after they simply did not work. hmm, obviously missing something else here. However, I still can't hold down CTRL and click to get a right-click.

how to netboot imac

so during a search for 'right-click'-ing on the trackpad of the MacBook, someone pointed out that the drivers are on the Leopard install disk!īut the thing is, once Windows XP is installed, you insert that Leopard install disk (booted up in Windows) it becomes the drivers disk and auto installs the drivers you need, like the graphics and wireless, as well as the trackpad drivers that allows you to put two fingers and use the button for a right-click (and also allows you to drag with two fingers). read the documents on the web about drivers and stuff but could find them. So I used Bootcamp in Leopard to install Windows XP. Once done the NetInstall image(s) appear, and then I can start the NetBoot service! The solution was, once the image has been successfully created I had to move them into the following directory for the NetBoot service to recognise the images: Initially, the problems were related to the fact that my NetInstall images weren't created properly, but once I had this solved, I still had problems. Secondly, I had lots of problems trying to start up the NetBoot service on Leopard server. Low and behold, the image is created properly. Once I had this on my external HDD, I attached it to my Leopard server, and proceeded to use System Image Utility on the server itself. I plugged this into my iMac and used Disk Utility to make an image of the iMac's HDD (using the restore facility). I gave up doing it this way, and obtained an external firewire HDD. The first attempt went well, but for some strange reason, subsequent attempts failed again and again ( see this thread). So following the scant Apple instructions, I installed Server Utilities on this iMac and used System Image Utility to make the image.

how to netboot imac

I built my iMac by installing and configuring it to a state where I wanted this to be my image (for installing other iMacs).

How to netboot imac trial#

With a bit of perseverance and trial and error, I've managed it.įirstly, making an image was a troublesome. I was having major problems getting going, as I got errors creating images (with System Image Utility) and with configuring and starting up NetBoot (on Leopard server). I have successfully created NetInstall images and have been installing them via the network!







How to netboot imac